Nunn the wiser


Old Holborn

Nunn

As readers will know, I am an avid supporter of both Liberty and Free Speech, something others have laid down their lives to ensure we are free to enjoy. As a somewhat regular visitor to Twitter (my 36th account is @holbornlolz), the case of Peter Nunn’s arrest interested me. He’s just been sent down for 18 weeks at Her Majesty’s Pleasure for a series of retweets, account changes and loosely veiled “threats” against both Stella Creasy MP and the hysterical moonbat, Caroline Criado-Perez. Coupled with other various outpourings on youtube videos and general ranting, it is quite clear to me that Peter Nunn has a problem with women.

Firstly, I am free to spout my nonsense because I stay within what is a quite well defined legal space – it has always been the case that you cannot threaten or incite violence upon anyone and not expect a knock on the door – but also because (as I was told by the Police) I run a successful blog and half of Fleet Street follows me on twitter.

I certainly don’t condone the rantings of Peter Nunn and the law is quite clear that you may not target individuals (harassment) but I do wonder just how political a sentence of 18 weeks in our overcrowded Prison can be justified. Had Peter Nunn had the right to a trial by Jury (as was once the basis of a free and fair judicial system), I am in no doubt he would have been found not guilty by his peers. As it was, a Magistrate decided his fate and in my opinion, hung him out to dry – for words on a screen – and most intriguingly, simply retweeting another user – something also done with the same “rogue” tweets by both of the Claimants.

So the show trial to define what may and may not be said on social media has alas been postponed, and today, yet another authoritarian Home Secretary has decided that people can also be prosecuted for “extremist” views, even if they haven’t broken any law. Designed to save us all from head chopping terrorists under our beds, it won’t be long before the usual Political mission creep sets in and er… the likes of Peter Nunn find themselves in er…prison. Interesting times, indeed.

..

Leave a Reply

